casadetraciemae

If you follow me on Pinterest, you’ve probably seen a rug or two in my boards. I’ve also been noticing several DIY painted rug projects on Pinterest as well. Sooooo, I took my tail right out to IKEA and purchased their 6×9 Erslev rug for $59. (Note: They do have a smaller Erslev rug 4×6 for $39.) I looked at the higher-priced rugs while I was there but there was nothing that could compare to getting a custom rug at this price.

To do this project you’ll need:

  • A flat woven rug like the IKEA Erslev rug
  • A quart (or so) of paint in the color of your choice
  • I mixed my paint with a fabric medium, but I didn’t heat set it so it was probably all for naught.
  • A patterned stencil (I used THIS one from Cutting Edge Stencils). You can DIY a pattern using contact paper…

View original post 330 more words