Jessie : Improved

In the interest of growing more food for my family (and doing it as cheaply as possible), I decided to try starting some of my seeds indoors this year.  I haven’t had much success with this in the past, and I think it’s because 1) I tried to put the seed trays out of sight (and therefore out of mind!) and 2) I didn’t get the seeds to the proper germination temperature.

Commercial seed heating mats seem to run from about $20-$30. I wanted to see if I could do better than that, so I puttered around on the internet for a while and found this link.  So I scrounged around my house and garage and this is what I came up with:

It’s made from an old plastic container that was already broken (see the wire going through the crack in the corner?), some play sand and a…

View original post 180 more words