the tragic whale

My friend has a clutch like this and I just thought it had the cutest shape! So I decided I’d try making one myself. Here is what I did so you can make one too!

You will need:


2 fabric pieces 12×5.5 inches for the outside
2 fabric pieces 12×5.5 inches for the lining (these will be for the body of the clutch)
2 fabric pieces 8×2 inches in outside print
2 fabric pieces 8×2 inches in lining print (these will make up the neck of the clutch)
1 piece of scrap fabric (either of outside fabric or a different color)
1 zipper
1 clasp

Let’s get started!

Cut your fabric! I used a light-weight muslin for the lining fabric and chose to iron on interfacing to help the finished clutch hold it’s shape.

Sew in the gathers.

To do this, take a neck piece and a body piece (same…

View original post 475 more words